Archie

Hi! My Name Is Archie

Archie is a giant lovable fluff ball. He loves his family (especially my husband) and has always been wonderful with our 3 children. He gets along very well with 3 of our dogs, but has really struggled with our oldest rescue Jackson resulting in some bad dog fights. Both my husband and I have also been bit while attempting to break up dog fights.

Archie is very trainable and really likes to please his owners. He really likes treats but also is very responsive to enthusiastic praise. He is a very traditional guardian breed and while he likes new people we always make sure that people are introduced in an appropriate manner. He would not like a home where there is a large flow of traffic in and out and he can be unsure of new people for a while until he is sure they're "safe". As a general rule he takes longer to warm up to men than woman.

While he is quite protective he can also be very nervous and unsure of himself. New situations can make him quite anxious. He was crate trained as a puppy, but now his "house" is a stall in the barn with a dog bed if we are going out. He is very affectionate and likes to be with his people. He sleeps in our room at night with the other dogs, and loves to sneak up on the bed for a snuggle. Archie loves being outside. He would happily lie outside in the snow for hours in the winter and really enjoys romping through our woods in the back with us. He definitely needs either a good long walk or lots of outdoor time in a day to get his beans out.

  • Shepherd - Romanian Mioritic
  • Male
  • Puppy (7-24 Months) (09/01/2020)
  • Over 100 Pounds
  • Grey & White
  • Active and Playful
  • I Like All Kids
  • I Like Select Dogs
  • I Like Some Cats
  • I Like Some Small Animals
  • I Am Scared of Livestock
  • I'm Currently In Training
Apply To Adopt Archie
DONATE NOW       Help us take care of Archie
X